FREE CONSULTATION:
609-230-0374
FREE CONSULTATION:
609-230-0374

Penalties for Intent to Distribute and Manufacture Drugs in New Jersey

Experienced NJ Criminal Lawyers

Defending Distribution and Manufacturing of Drug Offenses

Any charge of distribution or manufacturing of drugs in New Jersey is a serious offense.  Individuals may encounter hefty prison sentence, probation and fines.  If you have been charged with distribution or manufacturing of drugs you need to obtain the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. The Cherry Hill criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Michelle Finizio will provide an aggressive defense against distribution or manufacturing of drugs charges and strive to achieve the best possible outcome for your case.

New Jersey Penalties for the Intent to Distribute Drugs

Manufacturing or possessing with intent to distribute an illegal substance all carry severe penalties.  Depending on what illegal substance and how much of it is involved will determine the severity of those penalties.

HEROINE

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5b(1), if you are arrested for possessing with the intent to sell less than one-half of an ounce you face a prison term up to 5 years and a possible fine of up to $75,000.  Further, if the amount you are caught with is more than one-half of an ounce but less then 5 ounces you may have to deal with up to 10 years in prison and a possible $75,000 fine.  If you are caught with an amount exceeding 5 ounces you face a possible prison term of up to 20 years and a fine of $500,000.

LSD

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5b(7), you face a prison term of up to 10 years and a fine of $75,000 if you are charged for possessing with the intent to sell less than 100 milligrams.  Additionally, a possible 20 year prison sentence may be given if you are charged with selling more than 100 milligrams together with a possible fine of $500,000.

MARIJUANA

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5b(10)-(12), if you are arrested for possessing with the intent to sell less than 1 ounce of marijuana you may be facing up to 18 months in prison and a possible fine of up to $15,000.  You will face a prison sentence of up to 5 years if the quantity of marijuana you are charged with exceeds 1 ounce but is less than 5 pounds together with a possible fine of up to $25,000.  You will face a prison sentence of up to 10 years if the quantity you are charged with is between 5 and 25 pounds together with a possible fine of up to $75,000.  And you will face a prison sentence of up to 20 years if you are caught and charged with over 25 pounds of marijuana together with a possible fine of up to $300,000.